Day 6: A Song To Match My Mood

Okay, after writing that downer for Day 5, and becoming quite reflective, I moved to MoodFuse (introduced to me by Jenn) and, after much scrolling (past many Elton John songs I might add), I found Southern Cross.

I’ve always loved this song — the imagery, the harmony, the lyrics. Crosby, Stills & Nash have always been great for bringing all of those aspects into their music. It’s just a wonderfully reflective song about running from this certain truth that you don’t want to hit; searching and finding and losing. It shows faith and spirit and everything that makes a song good.

This song actually makes me quite hopeful and helps me look upward and ahead…I should listen to it more!

“When you see the Southern Cross for the first time
You’ll understand now why you came this way
‘Cause the truth you might be runnin’ from is so small
But it’s as big as the promise, the promise of a comin’ day
So I’m sailing for tomorrow my dreams are a dyin’
And my love is an anchor tied to you tied with a silver chain
I have my ship and all her flags are a’ flyin’
She is all that I have left and music is her name”

crosby-stills-nash-1-facebook-cover-timeline-banner-for-fb
Look at how cute!
Leave a Reply

